Hummus

The most important staple. I’d rather run out of bread and milk before hummus. This version uses slightly less fat than commercial hummus, but it still tastes great. As always, adjust fat and seasonings to your taste. 

Ingredients

  • 16 ounces (2 cups) cooked chickpeas. Cooked-from-dry are superior in flavor to canned and they’re cheaper. 35 minutes in the pressure cooker, 2-three hours in a stock pot.
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Water to thin
  • Olive oil to garnish
  • Enough salt

Technique
Tip—Using a blender gives the best consistency, but it takes just a bit more time. Be ready to stir the chickpeas in between blending spurts and add a little water to keep the whole mixture flowing onto the blender’s blade at the bottom of the jar. Just stop the blender, take a spatula, and make a hole in the middle of the chickpeas into which you pour a little water. Stir with the spatula then blend more. It’s worth it for the creamy, non-grainy texture you’ll get. You can also use a food processor, but you’ll need to do all steps for a longer time to achieve the right texture.

Add tahini. lemon, garlic, cumin, and salt to blender. Puree. Add 1/3 of the chickpeas at a time, blend until creamy smooth according to above note, then add more chickpeas and repeat. Transfer to refrigerator to chill. Serve with a drizzle of olive oil and lemon wedges.

Variation
Add several tablespoons strained Greek yogurt for a creamier hummus.

12 thoughts on “Hummus

  1. I’d like to try this. 16 ounces is about 450 grams and 2 cups a bit less than half a litre. But how much dried chick peas do I start with? 200 grams or something? Also, I only have a hand blender. Should I borrow a blender for this or will it do?

  2. Yes, try half that amount of dried chickpeas. Remember, this is forgiving. Don’t worry excessively. You will not be able to make this with a hand blender. You’ll need either a full sized one or a food processor.

  3. Lou, I’ve done it both ways, and honestly, I can’t really tell the difference. Sometimes I like the zen-like activity of rolling the peas between my hands and scooping out the floating skins, but for me it’s not essential.

  4. I made hummus! And I think it’s the way it should be. Not too thick but creamy. Tastes good. But I think I’ll put a bit less cumin next time. And maybe more lemon.

    I cooked the whole 500 gram bag and got 1,7 litres (7 cups) of chickpeas. I made two batches of hummus and put the rest to marinade in lemon, garlic, olive oil, honey and salt. I’m going to smell so bad next week.

  5. Is there any particular trick to getting the smooth consistency of commercial hummus? I tried to make it once with a food processor and it came out with little chunks of chick peas. From your comment about the food processor, I’m guessing that a blender is the key.

  6. I usually use the blender to make my basic hummus. If I’m tossing a bunch of other stuff in, like roasted red peppers that might have a hard time incorporating I use the food processor. Also, there’s no gluten to overwork, so I see no reason why you couldn’t do the initial grinding in the FP then move to a bowl and use a hand mixer to beat the shit out of them beans until the desired consistency is obtained.

  7. Well, hummus has been around a lot longer that either blenders or food processors, so there must be way to make it without them. But anyway, the blender I borrowed from my sister in law produced a nice and smooth hummus without any chunks. I did add quite a lot of water in the process.

    BTW, the marinated chickpeas were great too. I put them in salads and added them to all foods including ice cream last week. Ok, not ice cream.

  8. If you only have a hand blender and can’t get the smooth consistency, maybe blending until as smooth as possible and then rubbing through a fine- or double-mesh sieve could do the trick?

Dish, gurl!

